Home Dignitaries

Each year the Sequim Irrigation Festival has the honor of having a number of dignitaries associated with the festival.

Grand Marshal

The Grand Marshal is selected by the Irrigation Festival Committee. It is a person or persons within Sequim who have contributed to the community. Gary and Jan Smith have been selected as the 2014 Grand Marshal.


Grand Pioneers and Honorary Pioneers are selected by the Sequim Pioneers Association. The Grand Pioneers were born and lived most of their lives in the Sequim area. The Honorary Pioneers have lived in the Sequim area for over 40 years. The 2014 Grand Pioneers are Jack Stevens and Dorothy Daniels Ludke. The 2014 Honorary Pioneers are Mabel Sorensen and Glenn Greathouse.


The 2014 Royalty were selected at the Royalty Pageant on March 1, 2014. The Royal Court for 2014 are Queen Katie Tapia, Princess Judi Villella, Princess Kaylee Ditlefsen and Princess Kristina Holtrop.

Jr. Royalty

The Jr. Royalty are selected from the 3rd Graders at Helen Haller and Greywolf Elementary Schools who enter the "From the mountains to the sea, what are your favorite things to see?" essay contest. The 2014 winners were announced at the Pageant on March 1, 2014. The 2014 Junior Royalty are Alliyah Weber and Brett Mote from Helen Haller, and Espn Judd and Julia Jeffers from Greywolf.

Past Dignitaries

We don't ever like to forget the dignitaries from past years. You can still read about the 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013 Dignitaries on the Past Dignitaries page.